The Triumphant Return of the Free-for-All

15 10 2007

Yes, this is supposed to go on Friday. Yes, I know its Monday. So is it still a triumphant return if its two days late? Or is it more like a ‘soft opening’ of a store before the big ‘grand opening’ by being 4 days early? You decide. Either way, its been a long time returning, and there is plenty of accolades to give out…

Having a Better Fall Than Autumn Itself:

My beloved South Carolina Gamecocks (mine by way of common association, not actual alumni… ) are off to their best start in years (6-1) and nestled cozily in the top 10 of all the major college football polls. Its not very often you get to cheer for a team ranked higher than Florida, Tennessee, Georgia and that ‘other’ USC. Here’s hoping the honeymoon lasts all season.

on a related note, here’s the award for…

Best Display of School Respect By a Collegiate Athlete During A Post-game Interview:


Wait for it until about 52 seconds in. Eric Norwood for Homecoming King.

Best Use of an Unrelated Animal with an Unrelated Song to Sell An Unrelated Product:

Cadbury Chocolate. Drums. Gorillas. Phil Collins. I would have loved, beyond measure to be in this brainstorming meeting…

The Most Glaring Example I’ve Ever Seen of My Total Lack of Rhythm and Grace:
(from elclinto) Bill Shannon who was born with a degenerative hip condition. His legs cannot carry his own weight and so he has lived a life on crutches. He has developed a new way of moving through life on his skateboard and the crutches. He makes me feel like I’m wasting my legs.

Best Music Being Made My People Older Than Your Parents:

John Fogerty – Revival
Bruce Springsteen – Magic

These two CDs sound like they could have been made 30 years ago. In reality, you’d be hard pressed to find many albums of the last 30 years that actually stand up to these. My generation has yet to find its rock heroes. Until then, I’ll keep the ones that are still around. On a side note, one of my first musical memories is of my dad putting Credence on the stereo when I was 5 and me and my little sister dancing on the coffee table to ‘Down On the Corner.’ That’s just down right American.  Eat your heart out Norman Rockwell.


Actions

Information

Leave a comment