BRMC, Bluegrass & The Boss

23 04 2008

Last night began what has all the makings of being one of the best musical weeks of my life. Going to even just one of these shows would be awesome in itself – but to have them all fall on the same calendar week? Lets just say my ears have done nothing to deserve this kind of treatment. They owe me big time.

Last night I went and saw the Black Rebel Motorcycle Club at the Visulite in Charlotte. If you’ve never heard of them, just imagine what a band called the Black Rebel Motorcycle Club would sound like and you’re probably right. A dirty, swaggering mix of loud guitars and rock riffs sprinkled with some country, gospel and blues for good effect. They brought the heat for almost two hours and afterwards I had the blissful ring of rock n roll still in my ears.

And then on Thursday and Friday, Josh and I are headed up to Merlefest in Wilkesboro, NC, for some sweet Americana and Bluegrass action featuring a few my favorite bands – Old Crow Medicine Show and the Avett Brothers – and a few that I’m really looking forward to seeing – Ralph Stanley, Marty Stuart, Doc Watson and the Carolina Chocolate Drops, among many others. Plus there is a banjo competition. And I think some clogging. Dibs.

And if we were going to use a horse racing analogy, Sunday would be the Triple Crown or the Kentucky Derby (actually, I think the Kentucky Derby is the first leg of the Triple Crown. Hmm. I should never begin analogies I know nothing about… noted.) At any rate, rock n roll royalty is headed to the Queen City – Sunday the Boss comes to town. I’m going to go out on a limb here and say it will probably be one of those musical events I tell my grandchildren about. And I have a general admission ticket, which translates into me probably elbowing some guy in the head in order to get as close to the stage as possible. Because who doesn’t want to be up front when the whole place starts singing “Tramps like us, baby we were born to run.” Holy crap its gonna be sweet.

Actions

Information

One response

23 04 2008
McKenzie

You better believe I’ll be making the trek home for that Bruce concert. It’s going to be phenomenal.

Leave a Reply

