Top 10 Albums of 2007

12 12 2007

so the year is wrapping up here soon and I don’t see any hot new releases on the horizon for the next two weeks – so I’m going to go ahead and lay down my top 10 albums of 2007, as well as a few honorable mentions. Most of these I’ve written about earlier this year, so there won’t be much of a reason behind my choices. And if you don’t agree, blame your own bad ears.

Top 10 Albums of 2007
10.
Kanye West – Graduation
Yeah its rap, and yeah its probably the expected irony for kids who like indie rock to name drop a rapper every now and then to show that they’re hip with it, but I can’t help it – ‘Stronger’ is catchier than 24 hour stomach bug, the hypnotic synth line in ‘Flashing Lights’ is worth its weight in gold and Chris Martin’s reggae ooh ahhs on ‘Homecoming’ are genius.

9. Radiohead – In Rainbows
Free music from the closest thing my generation will have to The Beatles. What else do I have to say?

8. Rilo Kiley – Under the Blacklight
The songs drip pop goodness while exposing a few honky tonk roots, finally giving reason for California being out west.

7. Wilco – Sky Blue Sky
Wilco most accessible album – also their most fun. Summers nights on the lake was made for music like this.

6. Kings of Leon – Because of the Times
Granted I was a late adopter of this Kings record, but I’ve made up for lost time by wearing the crap out of these tracks. ‘Knocked Up’ is potentially my track of the year and ‘True Love Way’ makes your veins bulge when you sing along in the car.

5.
Bruce Springsteen – Magic
Finally giving people my age a glimpse of why American rock n’ roll has absolutely nothing to do with this guy or this guy. Thank you for the best sounding reminder I’ve ever heard.

4.
The Shins – Wincing the Night Away
Possibly the best live show I saw this year – no doubt due partly to the fact that they played almost every song from this album. Familiar and intimate while still pushing the band a little further into the limelight, this time with a much larger crowd.

3. Jimmy Eat World – Chase This Light
I haven’t loved Jimmy Eat World this much since the first time I heard ‘Lucky Denver Mint.’ While not groundbreaking, it delivers and never disappoints.

2. Feist – The Reminder
The iPod it-girl cemented her place in unlikely popstardom with the ‘1-2-3-4’ commercial, and ‘I Feel It All’ would make your dead grandpa smile and dance, but it’s in the quieter tracks like ‘The Park’, ‘So Sorry’ and ‘How My Heart Behaves’ where you find the real gems. Somewhere between a more moody Norah Jones and a more upbeat Cat Power.

1. Arcade Fire – Neon Bible
What the Killers wanted Sam’s Town to be and what The Boss hoped his musical legacy would inspire when he wrote ‘Born to Run.’ From cover to cover, ‘Neon Bible’ builds tension, moving and vibrant with a dark energy, like thunder in the distance – emoting a mood that’s both ominous and invigorating.

Honorable Mention:
– Avett Brothers – Emotionalism
– Band of Horses – Cease to Begin
– John Fogerty – Revival
– Spoon – Ga Ga Ga Ga Ga
– Ryan Adams – Easy Tiger