Must See TV

5 12 2007

so i’ve been trying for two weeks to pull everything together for this killer Friday Free-for-all… but I’ve missed two Fridays in the process, so I’m going to break it up into installments. Consider this part A, a.k.a….

Four TV Shows I Should Have Been Watching A Long Time Ago:

1. How I Met Your Mother
2. It’s Always Sunny In Philadelphia
3. Pushing Daisies
4. Friday Night Lights

So my roommate works for the cable company and we get a wicked good deal on a bunch of cable channels that I don’t hardly ever watch. But the one good thing we got with package was DVR – which I never fully appreciated until I saw what he was recording. I saw ‘How I Met Your Mother’ the other day for the first time and it was freakin’ awesome – way to come back strong Doogie Howser. Tons have people have been telling me to check it out, but I can’t remember what day it is, let alone remember when a TV show comes on. Cue the DVR… and cue the comparisons to this generation’s ‘Friends.’ If you think those are some mighty strong words, watch this.


If that doesn’t sway you – well now, you’re just being stubborn.

‘Its Always Sunny in Philadelphia’ on FX is another show I just saw for the first time the other day – and again, I laughed my pantelones off. I feel like I some how missed out on a little diamond in the rough. Consider my NetFlix cue now updated with the first season. Check back later for the final opinion, but its looking good so far… Danny DeVito hasn’t been this good since Twins.

Next is ‘Pushing Daisies’ – hands down the best thing ABC has going right now, and the biggest breath of fresh air I’ve seen on TV in a while. Imagine if Tim Burton took some Prozac or whatever those happy pills are and decided to make a weekly dramedy. The vibrant colors, characters and stories feel like all the good scenes from “Big Fish.” When I saw the first commercial for it, I thought – “Man, this is going to be a great movie!” – then I realized that it was going to be a weekly show, and every week you can almost sense the rest of television’s jealousy about not being as pretty and popular as “Pushing Daisies”

And finally, ‘Friday Night Lights’ – Even though the movie version of this is in my Top 10 Sports Movies list, I was kind of spotty watching this last season since I had Young Life on the night it came – which consequently was not Friday. But now that it is on Friday, I’m there and I’m waving my fake foam finger for the Dillon Panthers. It doesn’t matter that we DVR, and wait until Wednesday to watch it with Odie while reminiscing about the 919 days during commericial breaks.

And if you’re thinking – “TV makes your head turn to mush,” you’re probably right – but considering the amount of mush that television puts out, its good to know that there are still a few glimmers of hope, humor and originality left out there for my weekly viewing pleasure.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

