Busy Fo Shizzy

18 08 2007

I need more time in a day. Not a lot – just a few more hours between other hours – like a time brunch. or Fourth Meal. you get the idea.

Anyway, I’m once again realizing that I try way too hard to cram as much as possible into my life. I’m not sure when it was that I figured this out – maybe it was on my hour drive to work one morning, or maybe it was when I was rushing between work, softball, spending time with my lady and praying at the high schools for Young Life.  Maybe it was the fact that sometimes I don’t get to see Ashely until almost midnight.  I don’t know. Maybe it was just the bottleneck from hell that came down my project pipeline at work this week – we’re kicking off our fall series with new shirts, new brochures, new programs, new websites and new visions and most of the time, somewhere in the process, it funnels through my workspace, onto my laptop and off to a printer somewhere.  And sometimes, like today I get frustrated because my creativity isn’t keeping up with my workflow.  I prayed a lot this week for more capacity so that God could fill me with more creativity (my Pastor slash boss, Pastor Steven Furtick, has been really speaking to the staff about this  – check him out here) while also praying for renewed energy and good rest – too bad I don’t do anything to promote that – other than adopt the mantra of “I’ll sleep when I’m dead.” I look at my friends with jobs they can leave at work or those with fewer time commitments – and sometimes I get jealous. They have a freedom to do what they want on whim – or not do anything at all. And they seem happy for the most part.  And there is nothing wrong with the way they live.  And sometimes, I want that.  But then I think – I love my job with all I have – I work for a church with inspiring vision and limitless potential and they are completely open to new and creative ways to preach the words of God to a city with way too much religion and a starving need for real relationships with Jesus. My friend Charles and I were talking the other day about people and how they are the only things in this world worth investing in – because they’re the only things that are eternal. So I’m trying hard to align my life around this principle – people first, others desires somewhere else down the line.  My friends, family and my hot lady are the most important things in my life.  And my work with the church and Young Life fits in this too.  I just have to try to figure out how to fit it all into a 24 hour period and a 7 day week.  Either that or I’ll just live fast and die young.  Or maybe thats too poetic – maybe I just need a better calendar and the ability to say ‘No.’ sometimes while scheduling some down time into my life, because its hard to give all you have when you don’t have enough to give yourself.

Actions

Information

2 responses

18 08 2007
Randy

Pick up a copy of Guilt-Free Living my friend. It’s got some wonderful insights, it’s not amazing but there something I am sure you can use.

randy

22 08 2007
ksworth

when you figure out how to do it all… let me know.
i love you!

Leave a Reply

